Thursday, March 16, 2023

Announcing #BookTober With The Middle Daughter

Before Covid - the new BC - I did a series called BookTober in the month of October. I had so many great books submitted and was reading for months! I loved it, as I love to read and started out souly as a Book Blogger. And I am bringing it back this year! Here is a preview, with a great book called The Middle Daughter!

About The Book:
A lush, powerful tale of family and sisterhood from award-winning author Chika Unigwe, perfect for fans of Bernardine Evaristo and Tayari Jones. Udodi’s death was the beginning of the raging storm but at that moment, we thought that the worst had already happened, and that life would treat us with more kindness. When seventeen-year-old Nani loses her older sister and then her father in quick succession, her world spins off its axis. Isolated and misunderstood by her grieving mother and sister, she’s drawn to an itinerant preacher, a handsome self-proclaimed man of God who offers her a new place to belong. All too soon, Nani finds herself estranged from her family, tethered to her abusive husband by children she loves but cannot fully comprehend. She must find the courage to break free and wrestle her life back - without losing what she loves most. A modern reimagining of the myth of Hades and Persephone within a Nigerian family, The Middle Daughter charts Nani’s journey to freedom and homecoming.

About The Author:
Chika Unigwe was born in Enugu, Nigeria. She was educated at UNN and KUL (Belgium) and earned her PhD from Leiden University, Holland. Widely translated, she has won awards for her writing. Her books include On Black Sisters Street and Better Never than Late. She teaches at Georgia College, Milledgeville, GA.

~Hayley


Disclaimer: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising. I have used direct text from the website of the company/product I am promoting to facilitate in my review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment! I LOVE comments! :)

Sustainability in Interior Design - How Firms Are Embracing Eco-Friendly Practices

Sustainable design focuses on the balancing act between environmental health + aesthetics. The goal is to utilize renewa...